The Daring Bakers Challenge: Stollen

apple cinnamon stollen

The 2010 December Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Penny of Sweet Sadie’s Baking. She chose to challenge Daring Bakers’ to make Stollen. She adapted a friend’s family recipe and combined it with information from friends, techniques from Peter Reinhart’s book………and Martha Stewart’s demonstration.

Download the pdf.


I love to bake bread, so this month’s challenge was a welcome one. I feel very comfortable with yeast. I’m not so comfortable with candied fruit and citrus rind. I had a big bag of dried apples and some cinnamon filling mix from King Arthur so I decided to make apple-cinnamon stollen. And I’m so glad I did! I think it turned out fabulously yummy, if I do say so myself.

I also splurged and used fresh yeast. I’d forgotten how much bang you get for your buck with fresh yeast. I used to know someone in the wholesale baking business, and I was always welcome to help myself to his fresh yeast. I’d keep a big Zip-loc bag in my freezer, where it would go to sleep. I’d break off a chunk when I needed some.

I let the dough rest in the refrigerator for about 3 1/2 days. I’ve learned from making artisan bread that this can only make it better. The stollen was moist, with a nice chew to it. The orange extract is a nice combination with the apples and cinnamon.

To make my version, cut the dried apples into chunks and soak in Calvados until the liquid is absorbed; leave out the citrus rind; and spread the dough with your favorite cinnamon sugar filling before rolling it up.

One Response to “The Daring Bakers Challenge: Stollen”

  1. marcellina Says:

    What a great version with the dried apples and Calvados!

Leave a Reply

