Buttercream and Cheese Asian Sweet Bun

Butter Cream/Cheese Sweet Bun from Satay-2-Go by aharste
Butter Cream/Cheese Sweet Bun from Satay-2-Go, a photo by aharste on Flickr.

I’ve raved before on this blog about how much I love Corrina’s curry puffs and buns from Satay-2-Go in Apple Valley. She makes some of the best Asian pastries you will ever taste! They are baked from scratch every morning.

This morning I was in the area so I stopped by to pick up some pork bbq buns and chicken curry puffs for dinner. They have a deal when you buy 10 buns you get one free, so I asked the woman at the counter to give me her favorite sweet bun as the bonus.

She gave me this buttercream and cheese sweet bun, still warm from the oven. As I was driving away I took a bite, and it was so good that I stopped the car and ran back in to tell them how delicious it was.

A pillowy soft, light-as-air bun topped with a sprinkle of cheddar cheese is sliced horizontally and spread with silky vanilla buttercream. And I mean real buttercream! This was honestly better than a slice of cake, which is pretty much my favorite food.

Her pastries are available daily until they’re gone and if you arrive around 11 a.m. they should still be warm from the oven.

Leave a Reply

