Scenes from the Dane County Farmers Market

DSCN2670 by you.

As you can see, it was a picture perfect day at the Dane County Farmers Market in Madison, WI.  But enough site seeing.  Let’s get to the food.

On any given Saturday there are about 150 vendors at the market.  Everything is produced locally by the vendors.  It’s my favorite philosophy for a farmers market:  no resale allowed!  I even found locally grown unpopped popcorn and some wonderful New Mexico fire roasted green chile salsa from Tomato Mountain.

I had just picked up a CSA box, so I didn’t need any produce.  I was sad to pass up the asparagus, which is nearing the end of the season, but I also didn’t think it would keep well until I returned home on Sunday night.  And we were going strawberry picking on the way home, so I didn’t need strawberries.  But there are so many other choices.  Cheeses, smoked trout, eggs, preserves, honey, meats, poultry, MUSHROOMS, baked goods . . . so many baked goods.  So little room in my tummy.

Rustic Breads 1 by you.

Gorgeous rustic breads

Breads in case by you.

I wish I could have taken a better photo of this case of bread, because it was a work of art!

Doughnuts

Potato doughnuts are a popular item at the market, as were cinnamon breads and rolls, and spicy stuffed cheese breads, which seemed to be a particular specialty, but that I didn’t get to try this time around.

Apple Fritter by you.

I choose an apple fritter at a bakery stand from Gay Mills, WI.  Mmmmm, full of fresh apple chunks.

Pumpkin

Here’s a one-bite cheesecake from Grace Cheesecakes.  All of their flavors also came in bite-size portions for 85 cents.  They even have a little graham cracker crust on the bottom.  One of the sweetest deals at the market!

Whoppie pies

Fist-sized pumpkin and red velvet whoopie pies.  The photo does not do these cakes any justice.

DSCN2667

I bought cinnamon applesauce at this stand.  Look at all the preserves!

chili pepper

I bought insanely hot ground chile peppers from Out of Our Gourd.  Here’s a nice article about them.

honey man

And a honey man in a great hat!

blue potatoes

I was also on a quest for blue potatoes.  When you can find these, buy them!  They’re the most delicious potatoes you will ever eat.  Finely textured, creamy, they almost melt in your mouth.

blue potatoes w/sage butter

My blue potatoes with butter & fried sage from my garden.  Mmmmmmmm.

Sophia's kitchen

After all that work buying food, we needed a late breakfast.  An apple fritter and a one-bite cheesecake will only get you so far.  I’ve been trying to get to Sophia’s for years and I finally made it.  It was definitely worth the wait.

Sophia's

You can feel the love in the food at this cozy cafe.

Sophia's croissant sandwich

That is no ordinary breakfast sandwich my friends.  They make everything from scratch, including their picture perfect croissants.

Sophia's pancakes

I was in a pancake mood.  These are blueberry buttermilk, with a touch of cornmeal for some texture.  Delicious!

We ended the day at Sassy Cow Creamery.  I had to go simply because of the name.  We bought Purple Cow black raspberry ice cream, cream and butter.

One Response to “Scenes from the Dane County Farmers Market”

  1. Kyla Says:

    Ann,

    These photos look like they’re from a gourmet magazine. Amazing. Wonderful descriptions, too!

Leave a Reply

