Tuesdays with Dorie: Crust + Jam + Berries = The Amazing La Palette’s Strawberry Tart

Happy Happy Joy Joy – Ren & Stimpy

This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe is La Palette’s Strawberry Tart chosen by Marie from A Year at Oak Cottage.  I read the recipe over and thought “hmmm.  Sounds good.” But I  wasn’t terribly excited about making it.  I had just had, what I felt to be, the best strawberry pie I’d ever had, at the Curtis Cafe in Stafford, KS.  I will have to admit that I was wrong about this recipe . . . boy was I wrong!  A few simple ingredients.  While good on their own they become something amazing when the various textures and flavors come together.

I used the same crust I had made for the French Lemon Tart a few weeks ago.  I like the sweet tart dough with nuts.  I used ground almonds.

On to the berries.  I didn’t have a chance to go to the farmer’s market this weekend, so settled for some pretty good looking Drisoll’s strawberries from the grocery store.  I sliced them and added a spoonful of sugar and spoonful of cassis.  I was worried that the berries would have a raw alcohol flavor to them but I was pleasantly surprised by the way the cassis complemented the berries.

And that’s it.  Now on to the assembly.  I cut some wedges out of the crust.  I worried about it crumbling or breaking.  I used a very sharp knife and cut straight down.  It didn’t break or crumble.  I was able to make very clean cuts.  I spread Bonne Maman strawberry preserves on each slice, spooned on some berries, and plopped on some freshly whipped lightly sweetened cream.  I decided not to use the black pepper.

Happy Happy Joy Joy! A crisp shortbread-like crust, sweet jam, slightly tart and boozy berries, and creamy whipped cream.  I will take this over strawberry shortcake any day.  This summer I may work my way through the summer fruits using this recipe.  Very simple yet very elegant. And the beauty is that it doesn’t get all soggy since you can assemble it one piece at a time if you wish.

If you’re wondering where the recipe is, it’s been decided that since the group has grown so large it’s not fair to Dorie for us to put the recipes online.  So, if you don’t have the book, I can highly recommend it.

Next week’s recipe: Peppermint Cream Puff Ring chosen by Caroline from A Consuming Passion.

35 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Crust + Jam + Berries = The Amazing La Palette’s Strawberry Tart”

  1. rainbowbrown Says:

    Your pictures are very nice and elusive. Good to hear you enjoyed it.

  2. CB Says:

    I agree. Simple but elegant sums its up perfectly! Great job!
    Clara @ I♥food4thought

  3. Caitlin Says:

    Simple is wonderful, and yours looks simply delicious. And just like in the book too!

  4. food librarian Says:

    Love it! turned out wonderful!

  5. Amy P Says:

    Your pictures are beautiful and your tart looks delicious!

  6. Megan Says:

    Great photo – and I agree, you could use any fruit and the combo would be great!

  7. Rebecca Says:

    Look at that last photo! Totally cookbook-worthy.

  8. Heather B Says:

    I love your pictures! So beautiful! Great job!

  9. Jules Says:

    Mmmmm. I can’t wait to work through the fruit section of the grocery store with this tart base. Yours looks yummy!

  10. steph (whisk/spoon) Says:

    looks delicious!! i liked nuts in the tart shell, too.

  11. Di Says:

    Nice job on the tart! I’m with you–I can see making this with a whole bunch of different fruits over the summer.

  12. Kelly D Says:

    Beautiful tart!

  13. amanda Says:

    Your tart shell looks perfect! Great job!

  14. Christine Says:

    I agree, I was like this is going to be just ok. Boy was I wrong! Your tart looks delicious and the almonds in the tart are perfect!

  15. Jessica Says:

    What lovely pictures – your crust looks especially nice!

  16. Lori Says:

    I will take it over strawberry shortcake as well. Loved the crust.

  17. Natashya Says:

    Your crust looks perfect. I may try the nuts next time.

  18. Kayte Says:

    Very beautifully presented…and I love the almonds in the crust. I tried the pepper and it was really good…I was surprised as I just put a little on a berry with some of the topping as a “tester” and I thought, “Wow…very nice.” Try it…really…and let me know if you thought the same thing! Your photos are so lovely.

  19. Donna Says:

    Beautiful tart! And your photos are lovely too. Blueberries, raspberries, blackberries, they all sound wonderful in this tart!

  20. Ulrike aka ostwestwind Says:

    Your tart look delicious!

    Ulrike from Küchenlatein

  21. doughmesstic Says:

    yum-o! great job – how many fruits are you going to be using this tart shell for? I mean seriously!?

  22. Erin Says:

    Your tart looks beautiful! The crust came out perfectly!

  23. Marie Says:

    I’m soooo glad you liked this! Your tart looks delicious. I also love Rem and Stimpy! Happy happy Joy joy!!

  24. kim Says:

    very pretty tart! the cassis sounds yummy 🙂

  25. Annemarie Says:

    mmmmm! LOVE the strawberry juice running off the cream!

  26. Gretchen Noelle Says:

    Very pretty tart, glad you enjoyed it!

  27. Jayne Says:

    Excellent job. And I agree – such very simple ingredients, transformed into something super special when they’re combined.

  28. Cecilia Says:

    They might not be from the market, but the strawberries look delicious. I love strawberry season! Good job with the tart; it looks beautiful!

  29. lemontartlet Says:

    Go drunk berries, get your tart on!

  30. Allison Says:

    I agree–I cannot wait to try this recipe with all the in-season fruits of the summer. Beautfiul pictures.

  31. Hygeian Stew Says:

    Good work on the tart, I’m glad your crust held up nicely!

  32. Chelle Says:

    Love the tart! I am working on a new blog design for my blog and love how your comments are set up… do you mind me asking which blog theme you are using?

  33. whiskfoodblog Says:

    I’ll have to try nuts in the tart shell for this strawberry tart next time! Looks delicious.
    Shari@Whisk: a food blog

  34. mari Says:

    That slice of pie image is mouthwatering and I’m wishing I had some right this minute! I think this will be one of the all-time favorites for everyone!

  35. Jaime Says:

    beautiful tart!

Leave a Reply

