Turducken Smashburgers

Turkey burgers have a bad reputation, deservedly so, I think. I swore I would not waste another burger on turkey. But I ran across a tip this week that adding miso to the mixture makes a pretty good turkey burger. I have a handy bottle of Miso and Easy liquid miso which I bought at Cost Plus World Market. So I decided to give turkey burgers another chance. To hedge my bets, I decided to top it with a fried egg. And what can’t be improved with some duck fat?

If you happen to have some leftover poultry gravy like I did, throw in a couple of tablespoons; however that is something I’m not usually going to have on hand.

Turducken Smashburger

1 pound ground turkey breast
2 Tbsp. Miso & Easy (or 2 Tbsp. miso paste mixed with 2 Tbsp. water)
3-4 Tbsp. duck fat
4 eggs fried in olive oil (yolk to your liking, but the runnier the better for me)
4 slices cheese*
salt and pepper
4 buns, buttered and toasted

*My current burger favorites all hail from Wisconsin:
Meister Cheese Co. Wild Morel & Leek Jack
Harmony Dairy Abergele Portabella and Chive Cheese
Harmony Dairy Ale Caerphilly Cheese)

Directions

Mix the miso into the turkey breast. Divide the mixture into 4 portions; form into balls.

Heat a large, well-seasoned heavy skillet (not nonstick) over medium-high heat until almost smoking (If you want to multi-task, you can toast the buns in the heating skillet).

Add the duck fat to melt. When the duck fat is spitting hot, carefully place the turkey balls into the skillet. Cook 1 minute and then flip and smash to about 1/2-3/4″ thick with a spatula. Continue cooking for 1-2 minutes, until nicely crusted. Flip again. Season with salt and pepper and top with cheese. Cook another 1-2 minutes, until the burger is cooked through (but not overcooked) and the cheese is mostly melted. Top with the egg. Place on a bun.

Serves 4

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

