The Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Vanilla Panna Cotta with Fruit Gelée and Florentine Cookies

The February 2011 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Mallory from A Sofa in the Kitchen. She chose to challenge everyone to make Panna Cotta from a Giada De Laurentiis recipe and Nestle Florentine Cookies.

PDF of the recipes provided for the challenge.


Is there a good way to brighten your day when it seems like it will never stop snowing? I mean, I love a good snow storm more than almost anyone I know, but in the end (and sometimes the beginning and middle), you still have to go out and shovel. I was also going to have a tooth pulled mid-week, so I wanted something soft and sweet in the refrigerator.

IMG_2372

I was happy to have a slightly simpler Daring Bakers’ challenge to whip up this month in between trying to keep up with the snow.

The milk chocolate Florentine cookies were easy and fun to make, with that lacy, caramelized texture that looks like it should be hard to make. I left some of the cookies flat, and as an experiment, rolled some around forms to make them curvy, which was pretty.

cookie

I had never made panna cotta before and I have to admit that I’m afraid of working with gelatin the way some people are afraid of working with yeast. I had little faith that either my panna cotta or gelée would work, but they did!
vanilla and cookie
I added a teaspoon of vanilla bean paste to the panna cotta. And to add a little sunshine, I made a mango-cinnamon gelée, using sweetened mango purée and a teaspoon of cinnamon.

mango panna cotta

The panna cotta has been delicious and soothing to my sore mouth. I’ve snuck a couple of the cookies too, but eaten them VERY carefully.

6 Responses to “The Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Vanilla Panna Cotta with Fruit Gelée and Florentine Cookies”

  1. Kate An Says:

    Looks yummy & soothing. I made cranberry ornage florentines for the holidays and they were a big hit! Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  2. Kim Says:

    Your panna cotta looks great! And mango-cinnamon sounds like a very yummy flavor combination. I like the photo of your florentine curling around the dish. Nice job on the challenge!

  3. carlysulli Says:

    Yum! Your combination of flavors sound amazing. I also did mango for my panna cotta this month, but I love that you added cinnamon as well. Great job!

  4. Oggi Says:

    Mango gelee sounds delicious. Love the Florentine tuile hanging on the cup.:)

  5. berry lovely Says:

    I really like the rolled up florentines, good idea!

  6. Aisha Says:

    This sounds and looks divine!

Leave a Reply

