Asparagus Tartza

I couldn’t decide if this was more of a rustic tart or a pizza so I just made up a word.

asparagus tart by you.

I started with a frozen puff pastry sheet.  Usually I buy Pepperidge Farms or Trader Joes, but I found some at the UBake in Savage.  If you haven’t been there, check it out.  I’ve gone to the one in Madison, WI for years.  They have great frozen ready-to-bake products.  I love their puff pastry because it comes as 2 large unfolded sheets to a packge.  One sheet is the size of an entire package of  other commercial brands, so it fills my half-sheet pan. 

I topped it with a sour cream & chive mixture, sauteed asparagus and green garlic, and cubes of brie, bleu, and swiss cheeses.  I wanted to use up some small pieces of cheese I had left. Also, the Lund’s in my neighborhood keeps a basket of odds and ends pieces of cheese in one of their deli cases. It’s a great way to try a new cheese.

Asparagus Tartza

Puff pastry* for a 12 x 17 half size sheet pan or cookie sheet(line pan with parchment paper or Silpat)
1 Tbsp. olive oil
1 lb. asparagus cut into 1-inch lengths
1 stalk green garlic or 2 cloves garlic
1 1/2 cups cubed cheese (Cut into 1/2-inch cubes. Go ahead. Go crazy with some new flavors.)
Kosher or coarse sea salt
Coarsely ground black pepper

Sauce
1/2 cup sour cream
2-3 Tbsp. fresh chives, chopped
1 Tbsp. heavy cream

*If you need to you can pinch together two smaller sheets of pastry.

Preheat oven to 350.

Heat oil in skillet over medium-high heat. Saute asparagus and garlic until asparagus is slightly softened, about 10 minutes. Don’t be afraid to let the asparagus brown in spots. Set aside.

Lay puff pastry on sheet pan. Stir together the sauce ingredients and brush over the pastry. Spoon on the asparagus mixture and distribute cheese cubes over the top. Sprinkle on some coarse salt and grind some pepper over the top.

Bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes. Turn the oven up to 400 and bake for an additional 10-15 minutes, checking to make sure it’s browning nicely but not burning.

I think next time I will parbake the puff pastry sheet for about 10 minutes and then top and return to the oven.

I served this as a side to a steak, which was probably overkill. This would go nicely with a salad for a light spring dinner.

Leave a Reply

