April = National Grilled Cheese Month

Even though it’s April in Minnesota, it still feels like the dead of winter on most days. What better way to survive a never-ending winter than with that queen of comfort foods, a grilled cheese sandwich.

I was reading through my favorite blog, Serious Eats, and I ran across a post for a tomato soup grilled cheese sandwich. I could not let a day pass before I tried this. Bliss as a sandwich! The recipe, which you can find at Pithy & Cleaver, holds this favorite pairing together in one tidy, tasty package. I made them on my panini grill using Italian bread and a mixture of sharp cheddar and colby-jack cheeses. Check out the recipe. You won’t be sorry. Go wild. Add bacon, prosciutto, tomatoes . . . I’m trying to figure out a way to get the Saltines in there.

Leave a Reply

