Trader Joe’s Red Thai Curry Sauce


redthaicurry1

If I were poetic I would write an ode to Trader Joe’s Red Thai Curry Sauce. It is probably my favorite convenience item. I usually use it to make a quick chicken curry with thighs, sweet potatoes, carrots & onions in my pressure cooker (done in about 20 minutes).

This week I was inspired by a recipe for Thai tofu stew recipe I saw in my new copy of The Bon Appetit Cookbook: Fast Easy Fresh Cookbook. I had some of the ingredients in my pantry, but I realized my handy dandy bottle of curry sauce would stand in for the ones I didn’t have.

Red Thai Curry Stew
Serve with jasmine rice and maybe some nice roti or paratha bread.

2 Tbsp. canola oil
1 block extra firm tofu, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
1 lb. pork loin, sliced thinly
2 small zucchini, quartered and sliced
1 bottle Trader Joe’s Red Thai Curry Sauce
1 Tbsp. lime juice
1 Tbsp. soy sauce

Heat 1 Tbsp. oil in a nonstick skillet until just smoking. Add the tofu. Let it sit undisturbed until one side browns. Stir the tofu and add the pork, again letting it sit undisturbed a few minutes until it starts to brown. Begin stir-frying. I try to brown all sides of the tofu, but I usually run out of patience with all those little cubes.

Remove the tofu and pork to a plate. Heat the additional tablespoon of oil and add the zucchini, and any other vegetables you want to add. Again, try to brown the zucchini. Add the tofu and pork back in along with the rest of the ingredients. Simmer until heated through.

Serves 4.

Leave a Reply

