When life hands you squash . . . make ice cream

butternut squash ice cream by you.

I’ve wanted to try this recipe for Ginger and Butternut Squash ice cream ever since I saw it on the BBC Web site a while back. 

I’m a fairly recent convert to squash and I still don’t like all squashes.  I think the taste of acorn squash scarred me for life. I won’t share what I used to threaten to do if made to eat squash as a child, but I’m sure you can use your imagination. And I will brag that I was capable of pinpoint accuracy.

But there are certain squashes I even look forward to eating. One of our favorite dinners is a butternut squash soup with sausage and wild rice, and pie made with delicata substituted for pumpkin is really delicious. But that’s for another day.

This ice cream is definitely a pretty harmless way to increase both your ice cream and beta carotene intake in one fell swoop.  I know you won’t believe this of me, but I found this recipe too rich.  The heavy mouth feel of the cream and egg yolks muted the other flavors, making it taste heavy and kind of bland.  When I make this again I’m going to try substituting whole milk for at least half of the cream, and use brown sugar to complement the sweetness of the squash.

Now the candied graham cracker crumbs, on the other hand, hit it out of the park!  You will look for any excuse to put these on something.  But it’s OK to just eat them plain too.  And wouldn’t they be a great addition to granola or yogurt?  I adapted the recipe from a cheseecake topping I saw on Gordon Ramsay’s F Word.

Candied Graham Cracker Crumbs

1/2-1 cup graham cracker crumbs
6 Tbsp. white sugar
1/3 Cup butter

Melt the sugar in a heavy-based non-stick pan until it begins to caramelize. Watch carefully because with such a small amount of sugar it will happen quickly! Carefully add the butter, swirling the pan to mix the caramel with the butter as it melts. Add the graham cracker crumbs and stir to coat with the caramel. Tip on to a plate, chill for 5 minutes until firm, then break up into rough crumbs.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

